		AGENDA ITEM 2
		CSC/01/13
Committee:	mittee: Corporate Scrutiny Committee	
Date:	10 June 2013	
Constitution Terms of Reference and Membership		

Background:

At the meeting of Full Council on 14 May 2013 amended Articles 9 and 10 of the Constitution were approved. These included updated Terms of Reference and membership for Council committees.

Recommended:

That the Committee note:

- The extract copy of a new Article 9 of the Constitution approved by Full Council on 14 May 2013, which lists the Terms of Reference for the Corporate Scrutiny Committee, formerly known as the Executive Scrutiny Committee, (reproduced overleaf in Appendix A) and the new membership of the Committee, including the Chairman for the first year (reproduced overleaf in Appendix B);
- (ii) That, after the first year, it is currently proposed that the Chairmanship of the Committee will rotate to the Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group for the second year and then to the Leader of the United Kingdom Independence Party Group in the third year.

EXTRACT FROM NEW ARTICLE 9 OF THE CONSTITUTION APPROVED BY FULL COUNCIL ON 14 MAY 2013

9.5.1 Corporate Scrutiny Committee

Membership: 14 Members

- The overall strategic direction, policies and priorities of the Cabinet and of Council, including the overall corporate revenue and capital budget strategy of the Authority
- Financial Resources (revenue and capital), precepts and levies
- Community Leadership and Community Strategy
- Community Budgets and Essex Partnership Board
- Equalities and Diversity
- Policy and Strategy Team
- External and internal communications
- Customer services (Contact Centre, Member Enquiries)
- Capital Programme Governance
- Procurement and commercial services
- Asset management and Facilities Management
- Legal services
- Performance and Organisational Intelligence
- Essex Transformation Programme
- Audit and Risk
- Information services and technology
- Human Resources and employee services
- Business Support

Continued overleaf....

- Essex Shared Services
- Property Strategy
- Traded services
- Emergency Planning

Appendix B

APPROVED BY FULL COUNCIL ON 14 MAY 2013

Membership of Committees (extract)

CORPORATE SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

Chairman:

Julie Young

<u>CORPORATE</u> <u>SCRUTINY COMMITTEE</u> (14)

(8 Con : 1 UKIP: 2 Lab: 2 LD : 1 NA)

William Archibald

Susan Barker

Malcolm Buckley

Graham Butland

Jude Deakin

Roger Hirst

Roger Lord

Mike Mackrory

Valerie Metcalfe

Pierre Oxley

Mick Page

Joe Pike

Colin Seagers

Julie Young

Continued overleaf....

Conservative Subs:

John Knapman

Jenny Chandler

Labour Sub:

Tony Durcan

[subsequently advised

LibDem Sub:

Anne Turrell]