

Committee to Determine the Terms and Conditions of Chief and Deputy Chief Officers	CO/03/16				
Date of meeting: 20 June 2016					
Appointments Sub-Committee – Outcome of Recent Meetings					
Report by: Secretary to the Committee					
Enquiries to: Judith Dignum, Committee Services Manager, 03330 134579 / Judith.dignum@essex.gov.uk					

## 1. Purpose of report

1.1. To inform the Committee of the outcome of meetings of the Appointments Sub-Committee from 1 April 2014 to 31 March 2016

## 2. Recommendations

2.1. That the outcome of meetings of the Appointments Sub-Committee from 1 April 2014 to 31 March 2016 be noted.

## 3. Background

- 3.1. Under its Terms of Reference (as set out in the Council's Constitution) the Committee has the power to establish a sub-committee to deal with particular appointments or dismissals.
- 3.2. As part of the Transformation Programme in May 2013, an Appointments Sub-Committee was established comprising three members (two Conservative and one from the main Opposition Groups) to be appointed on an ad hoc basis to deal with appointments to certain posts.

At each meeting of the Appointments Sub-Committee, authority is delegated to the Chairman to confirm as a correct record and sign the minutes of the meeting, and outcomes are reported to a future meeting of the Committee to Determine the Terms and Conditions of Chief and Deputy Chief Officers.

## 4. Appointments Sub-Committee – Recent Meetings

4.1. The Committee is asked to note the composition and outcomes of meetings of the sub-committee held between 1 April 2014 to 31 March 2016, as detailed in the table below:

Date of meeting	Purpose	Panel members	Appointed	Chairman
17-Dec-14	Director of Adult Operations & Director of Local Delivery, Adult Operations (4 posts)	Cllr A Brown Cllr D Madden Cllr K Gibbs	Director of Adult Operations: James Bullion Director of Local Delivery, Adult Operations: Simon Froud	Cllr D Madden
26-Jan-15	Director for Local Delivery	Clir D Madden Clir R Gadsby Clir M Mackrory	Sukriti Sen	Cllr D Madden
25-Feb-15	Director for Integrated Workforce Development	Cllr D Madden Cllr M Maddocks Cllr K Gibbs	Anne Finn	Cllr D Madden
11-Mar-15	Director for Capital Delivery	Cllr K Twitchen (substitute for Cllr R Hirst) Cllr J Spence Cllr K Bobbin	Paul Crick	Cllr J Spence
20-Mar-15	Director for Local Delivery, Adult Operations	Cllr D Madden Cllr M Maddocks Cllr K Gibbs	Jon Dickinson, Alexandra Laidler Ann Workman	Cllr D Madden
08-Apr-15	Programme Director for Waste Transformation	Cllr K Bentley Cllr R Hirst Cllr M Mackrory	Jim Aldridge (2 year fixed term secondment)	Cllr K Bentley
14-May-15	Director for Integrated Commissioning	Cllr D Madden Cllr E Johnson Cllr M Mackrory	Thomas Day	Cllr E Johnson
18-May-15	Director for Commissioning, Economic Growth and Communities	Cllr K Bentley Cllr R Hirst Cllr J Young	Dominic Collins	Cllr K Bentley
02-Dec-15	Director for Education & Lifelong Learning	Cllr R Gooding Cllr J Spence Cllr M Mackrory	Clare Kershaw	Cllr R Gooding
12-May-16	Director for Strategic Housing	Clir M Buckley Clir J Spence Clir J Young	Jamie Carswell	Cllr J Spence

4.2. The Sub-Committee's minutes are public documents and may be viewed on the Council's website.