8 October 2015

Minutes of a Meeting of the Committee to Determine the Terms and Conditions of Employment of Chief and Deputy Chief Officers held at County Hall, Chelmsford, at 08:15 on 8 October 2015.

Present:

Councillors

Councillor Kevin Bentley Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Economic

Growth, Infrastructure, Waste and Recycling

Councillor David Finch Leader of the Council Councillor Norman Hume Chairman of the Council

Councillor Mike Mackrory Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group

Councillor Julie Young Leader of the Labour Group

The following officers were present in support:

Maxine Taylor Head of HR Strategy
Martin Tucker GatenbySanderson

1. Apolgies for absence

No apologies received.

2. Election of Chairman for the Meeting

Resolved:

That Councillor David Finch be elected as Chairman for the meeting.

3. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

4. Minutes of the Meeting

Resolved:

That authority be delegated to the Chairman to sign the minutes of the meeting, following which the outcome would be reported to a future meeting of the Committee to Determine the Terms and Conditions of Employment of Chief and Deputy Chief Officers.

2 8 October 2015

5. Exclusion of the Press and Public

Resolved:

That, having reached the view that the public interest in maintaining the exemption (and discussing the matter in private) outweighed the public interest in disclosing the information, the public (including the press) be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as specified in paragraphs 1 and 2 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.

6. Candidate Interviews

(Exempt under paragraphs 1 and 2 - information relating to any individual or which is likely to reveal the identity of any individual)

The Committee interviewed two internal and three external candidates for the post of Chief Executive.

Resolved:

That Gavin Jones be appointed to the post of Chief Executive.

The meeting closed at 16:00.

Chairman Date: