Revised JHOSC Membership – For Approval

Following the resignation of Cllr Colin Sargeant on 19 August 2019 there are currently only three Essex representatives on the Suffolk and North East Essex Joint Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee. Members of the Essex HOSC are therefore asked to approve the following two actions:

- 1. Members are asked to again note and approve political proportionality rules as set out in Paragraph 3 of the JHOSC Terms of Reference:
 - '3.1. The joint committee will consist of four members representing Essex and four members representing Suffolk, as nominated by the respective health scrutiny committees.
 - 3.2. Each authority may nominate up to three2 substitute members.
 - 3.3. The proportionality requirement will not apply to the joint committee, provided that each authority participating in the joint committee agrees to waive that requirement, in accordance with legal requirements and their own constitutional arrangements.
 - 3.4. Individual authorities will decide whether or not to apply political proportionality to their own members.
 - 3.5. The joint committee will elect a Chairman and Vice-Chairman at its first meeting.
 - 3.6. The joint committee will be asked to agree its Terms of Reference at its first meeting.
 - 3.8. Each member of the joint committee will have one vote.'
- 2. Members are asked to approve membership for the JHOSC as set out below:

(New members in bold)

Cllr Ann Brown (Constable) (Chairman)

Cllr Dave Harris (Berechurch and Shrub End)

Cllr Andy Wood (Clacton North)

CIIr Andy Erskine (Tendring Rural East)