HOSC/20/17

Committee Health Overview and Scrutiny

Date 12 July 2017

Membership and Co-optees on the Committee

Report by: Christine Sharland, Scrutiny Officer

Contact details: christine.sharland@essex.gov.uk Tel: 03330134569

The Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee (HOSC) membership comprises twelve County Council Members.

In May the full Council in May 2017 Councillor Jillian Reeves was elected Chairman of the Committee, and appointed the following twelve County Councillors to the Committee:

Name	District/ Division
Jo Beavis	Braintree/ Halstead
Jenny Chandler	Chelmsford/ Great Baddow
Beverley Egan	Castle Point/ Thundersley
Dave Harris	Colchester/ Maypole
Jeff Henry	Basildon/ Laindon Park & Fryerns
Maggie McEwen	Epping Forest/ Ongar
Richard Moore	Basildon/ Billericay & Burstead
Jillian Reeves	Castle Point/ Hadleigh
Stephen Robinson	Chelmsford/ Chelmsford North
Colin Sargeant	Tendring/ Clacton East
Carole Wilson	Rochford/ Rochford West
Andy Wood	Tendring/ Clacton North
Named substitutes:	
Ricky Gadsby	Epping Forest/ Waltham Abbey
Mike Steptoe	Rochford/ Rochford South
Pat Reid	Basildon/ Pitsea
John Baker	Colchester/ Parsons Heath & East Gates

(Councillors divisions have been included for information):

It is understood that at July full Council there may be a change in the HOSC membership namely Councillor Anne Brown (Colchester/ Constable) will replace Councillor Jeff Henry.

In addition, Article 10 of the Council's Constitution permits the appointment of up to four co-opted non-voting members, at the invitation of the Committee, on the nomination of other Essex local authorities - primarily to ensure that all twelve council administrative areas in Essex are represented on the HOSC either by a County Councillor or District Councillor.

Based upon the new County Councillor membership of the HOSC, there is no representation from the administrative areas of Brentwood, Harlow, Maldon, and Uttlesford moving forward. In consultation with the Chairman, the local councils have been invited to nominate a representative to sit on the HOSC as a co-opted non-voting member for the year ahead.

To date the following nominations have been received:

- Brentwood Borough Council To be confirmed
- Maldon District Council To be confirmed
- Harlow District Council Councillor Tony Durcan
- Uttlesford District Council Councillor Vic Ranger

Action required by the Committee:

- 1. To note the Committee's membership, and
- 2. To ratify the invitations sent to selected district councils to nominate a representative to serve on the HOSC for 2017/18 as a non-voting co-opted member, and approve those nominations received.