Appointment of Honorary Aldermen

In October 2004, the Council approved a Scheme to confer the title of honorary alderman or honorary alderwoman on:

- all individuals who have previously held the Office of Chairman of the County Council and are no longer Members of the County Council;
- a small number of individuals in each four-year cycle to recognise the contribution of retiring Members who have rendered eminent service to the Council, but who have not held the Office of Chairman.

The Council usually appoints honorary aldermen after each ordinary election to the Council. In this Council, in addition to the May 2021 appointment, two further appointments were made in May 2022.

The Council's approval is now sought to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on the individuals, as recommended below. The legal requirement for the appointment of an Honorary Alderman is that the resolution must be passed by two-thirds of the Members voting at the meeting.

If passed the newly appointed Honorary Aldermen will be invited to receive their badge at the December 2022 meeting of the Council.

Recommended:

That, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, Mr Tony Durcan and Mr Mick Page be appointed as Honorary Aldermen of the County of Essex.