

Essex Climate Action Commission

Agenda – 04 October 2021

Membership:

Prof. Jules Pretty (Acting Chair)

Prajwal (Co-Chair) Ellie (Co-Chair) James Abbott

Catherine Cameron Natalie Chapman Cllr. Peter Davey Ian Davidson

Peta Denham Toddington Harper

Cllr. Ivan Henderson

John Henry Heather Hilburn Victoria Hills

Prof. Peter Hobson Prof. Aled Jones John Lippe

Cllr. David King

Cllr. Sue Lissimore

Dr Simon Lyster

Dr Laura Mansell-Thomas Prof. Jacqueline McGlade

Robert Mitchell Mark Nowers Rob Pilley Dr Adam Read Jake Richards

Jo Roberts

Jonathan Stephenson Cllr. Paul Thorogood Prof. Graham Underwood

Simon Walsh

Cllr Holly Whitbread

Rob Wise

Dr Poone Yazdanpanah

(Quorum: 7, including the Chair)

Secretariat supporting the work of the Commission:

- Ruth Kent, Project Manager
- Kerry Burgess, Communications Manager
- Michelle Blake, Business Support Administrator
- Gemma Bint, Democratic Services Officer

For information about the meeting please contact:

The Secretariat at the Essex Climate Action Commission Email: climate.commission@essex.gov.uk

Essex Climate Action Commission meeting information

Meetings will be recorded for public dissemination. Commission members should note that all discussions in the main Commission meetings will, unless by exception be agreed in advance by the Chair, be released into the public domain.

If you have specific access requirements or a need for documents in large print, Braille, Easy Read, or alternative languages, please contact the Secretariat of the Commission before the meeting takes place.

Agenda

- 1. Welcome and Opening (11:00 11:05) Prof. Jules Pretty and Prajwal
- 2. Taking forward Climate Action (11:05 11:10) Cllr Peter Schwier, ECC Climate Czar and Sam Kennedy, ECC's Director for Environment and Climate Action
- 3. Communications Update (11:10– 11:15) Rob Pilley
- 4. The Commission's Focus (11.15 11:20) Prof. Jacqueline McGlade
- 5. Discussion Session (11:20 12:00) All Commissioners will discuss the implementation of the recommendations within the 'Net-Zero: Making Essex Carbon Neutral' – what they can commit to doing with colleagues, stakeholders, organisations etc.
- 6. Green Growth (12.00 12.20) Mark Doran, ECC Director for Sustainable Growth

This session will focus on Green Growth, as per the agreed Work plan, highlighting the opportunities there are within Essex, and strategy developments underway. 5 minutes at the end of the session will be allocated for questions and answers.

- 7. Turning Vision into Reality (12.20 12.35)
 - a. Sustainable Homes Richard Davidson, Director, Willmott Dixon Construction Ltd

This session will focus on the challenges and opportunities for developing sustainable homes and examples across Essex.

b. Sustainable Energy – Joe Howe, Executive Director of the Energy Research Institute, University of Chester

This session will focus on the importance of Sustainable Energy, what the Net Zero North West group has done/is doing, using some case studies and examples.

8. Discussions (12.35 - 12.55) - All

This session will focus on discussing how the Commissioners can support Green Growth across Essex, networks that can be leveraged and commit to action.

9. Next Meeting and Close (12:55 – 13:00) – Prof. Jules Pretty

