# The Minutes of the meeting of the Boundary Review Committee, held in Committee Room 1, County Hall, Chelmsford on Thursday 27 July 2023

Chairman

A <u>YouTube recording</u> of the meeting is to be found online.

#### Present:

## **Members of the Committee:**

Cllr Tom Cunningham Cllr Lewis Barber Cllr Mark Durham Cllr Jaymey McIvor Cllr Stephen Robinson

Cllr Kerry Smith
Cllr Holly Whitbread

#### **ECC Officers:**

Paul Turner Director, Legal and Assurance

Joanna Boaler Head of Democracy and Transparency

**Present online:** Councillor Dave Harris

Councillor Mark Platt (from 2:15)

#### Welcome and Introduction

Cllr Tom Cunningham, the Chairman of the Boundary Review Committee, welcomed those in attendance.

## 1. Membership, Apologies, Substitutions and Declarations of Interest

The report of Membership, Apologies and Declarations was received, and it was noted that:

- The Membership of the Boundary Review Committee was as shown in the report.
- Apologies from Cllr Pat Reid had been received and that Cllr Dave Harris was joining online to observe and take part in the discussions but would be unable to vote on the recommendations.
- No declarations of interests were made.

# 2. Submission to the Local Government Boundary Commission

Cllr Cunningham as Chairman of the Committee, introduced the work of the Committee and the remit of this particular meeting. He thanked members both present and those who had provided input into the drafting of the submissions for their commitment to Essex making a submission.

He then asked Paul Turner and Joanna Boaler to present the draft submissions as circulated to members and made available on the Council's website.

**Basildon:** The proposals were presented and discussed and a name change was suggested by Cllr Smith, he suggested that East Wickford and Bowers Gifford should be known as Wickford North East and Bowers Gifford. Members agreed to this suggestion.

**Braintree:** The proposals were presented and discussed and no amendments were suggested to those previously circulated.

**Brentwood:** The proposals were presented and discussed and no amendments were suggested to those previously circulated.

**Castle Point:** The proposals were presented and discussed and no amendments were suggested to those previously circulated.

Chelmsford: The proposals were presented and discussed and a number of changes were suggested by Cllr Robinson. Cllr Robinson suggested a number of changes to the configuration of the boundaries and a name change for one division. Members agreed to rename South Woodham Ferrers division to Woodham Ferrers division. Members rejected the change for boundaries due to the late notice of the change and the deadline that the submission needed to be made. The Chairman reminded members they were able to make their own submissions to the Commission by the deadline of 31 July.

**Colchester:** The proposals were presented and discussed and no amendments were suggested to those previously circulated.

**Epping Forest:** The proposals were presented and discussed and Cllr McIvor suggested a number of changes, moving five polling districts. The Committee rejected the changes due to the late notice of the changes and the deadline that the submission needed to be made. The Chairman reminded members that they were able to make their own submissions to the Commission.

**Harlow:** The proposals were presented and discussed, division name changes were suggested by Cllr Smith and it was agreed that these would be reviewed and finalised in consultation with the Chairman. Members agreed this.

**Maldon:** The proposals were presented and discussed, a division name change was suggested by Cllr Durham, this was to rename Maldon Town to Maldon Town and Heybridge, the Committee agreed this change.

**Rochford:** The proposals were presented and discussed and no amendments were suggested to those previously circulated.

**Tendring:** The proposals were presented and discussed and the change as circulated in the spreadsheet, but not as presented in the map was agreed. This was to split polling station AA between Clacton North and Clacton West and move polling station BH to Clacton West.

**Uttlesford:** The proposals were presented and discussed and no amendments were suggested to those previously circulated.

#### Resolved

That the Committee agreed the 12 submission proposals as presented with minor amendments as above and asked for officers to make the submission to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England by the deadline of 31 July 2023.

Members asked their votes to be recorded for the following:

- Cllr Robinson asked his vote to be recorded against for the Chelmsford and Epping Forest district proposals.
- Cllr McIvor asked his vote to be recorded against the Epping Forest proposal.
- Cllr Smith asked for his vote of abstention to be recorded for the Epping Forest proposal.

It was also resolved that Monitoring Officer in Consultation with the Chairman may agree any minor changes to the proposals agreed by the committee.

# **Next Steps:**

The Chairman then asked the Monitoring Officer to set out the next steps, the Monitoring Officer confirmed that ECC officers will make the formal submission before Monday 31 July to the Commission and members are reminded that anyone can make a submission directly.

The Monitoring Officer explained that the Commission will review all submissions, visit the county and make contact with officers, members and individuals as necessary and then draft proposals will be published by the Commission in November for consultation. We will then decide how we will respond to this stage of the consultation and whether to reconvene informally or formally this Committee.

The Chairman and members of the Committee then thanked all members who had supported the process and taken the time to put forward proposals. He then thanked Paul Turner and Joanna Boaler for their work in the previous weeks and

months and he also thanked Louis Yong Yang Yen and Michele Figg for all their work in supporting the process.

Cllr Whitbread then put on record her thanks to the Chairman of the Committee for everything he had done to take forward this work and all members agreed.

The meeting closed at 3:18pm.

Chairman 03/08/2023