

Essex Climate Action Commission

For information about the meeting please ask for: David Claydon, Delivery Manager for the Essex Climate Action Commission Telephone: 033301 36027 Email: climate.commission@essex.gov.uk

Membership (Quorum: 7, including the Chair):

Lord John Randall (Chairman) Prajwal (Co-Chair) Daniel (Co-Chair) Cllr. James Abbott Catherine Cameron Mark Carroll Natalie Chapman Cllr. Peter Davey Ian Davidson Peta Denham **Toddington Harper** Prof. P Hobson Cllr. Ivan Henderson Heather Hilburn **Prof. Aled Jones** John Lippe Cllr. Sue Lissimore Dr Simon Lyster

Cllr. Mike Mackrory Dr Laura Mansell-Thomas Prof. Jacqueline McGlade **Cllr.** Robert Mitchell **Right Revd. Roger Morris Rob Pilley Prof. Jules Pretty** Dr Adam Read Jake Richards Jo Roberts Chloe Rose Jonathan Stephenson Prof. Graham Underwood Cllr. Simon Walsh Jenni Wiggle **Charlotte Williams** Rob Wise Dr Poone Yazdanpanah

Essex Climate Change Action Commission meeting information

Meetings will be audio recorded for public dissemination. Commission members should note that all discussions in the main Commission meetings will, unless by exception, to be agreed in advance by the Chair, be released into the public domain.

The Commission Meetings will be held virtually using Zoom. Please do not attend County Hall as no one connected with this meeting will be present.

If you have specific access requirements or a need for documents in large print, Braille, Easy Read or alternative languages, please contact the Secretariat of the Commission before the meeting takes place. The agenda is also available on the Essex County Council website, www.essex.gov.uk From the Home Page, click on 'Running the council', then on 'How decisions are made', then 'council meetings calendar'. Finally, select the relevant committee from the calendar of meetings.

Secretariat to support the work of the Commission:

David Claydon, Delivery Manager for the Essex Climate Action Commission Philip Oldershaw, Cabinet Adviser to Cllr Walsh, ECC Cabinet Member for Environment & Climate Change Action Gemma Bint, Democratic Services Officer Jo Boyd-Wallis, Senior Strategy Adviser

Pages

- 1 Welcome, Apologies and Substitutions (10:00 10:05) Lord Randall, Chairman
- 2 Adapting to an already changing climate a 3 31 presentation by Kathryn Brown, Head of Adaptation at the Committee on Climate Change Secretariat (10:05 - 11:05)
- 3 Q&A and Discussion Session (11:05 11:45) This session will reflect on the presentation, discuss activities already in train and conclude with the

agreement of key recommendations to be considered by the Council on how the county might respond to the already changing climate in Essex.

- 4 Workstream Update (11:45 11:55) Verbal updates on the Community Engagement and Transport workstreams.
- 5 Meeting Close (11:55 12:00) Lord Randall, Chairman

Provisional dates for subsequent Commission meetings are:

08/09/20Transport29/09/20The Built Environment27/10/20Interim Report meetingTBCEnergy12/01/21Land use & Green InfrastructureTBCCommunity Engagement16/03/21Year 1 report