ESSEX CLIMATE ACTION COMMISSION - AGENDA

Chairman

Co-chair

Co-chair

Membership:

Lord John Randall Prajwal

Daniel

Prof. Jules Pretty

Prof. Graham Underwood

Prof. Aled Jones

Prof. P Hobson Dr Simon Lyster

Prof. Jacqueline McGlade

Toddington Harper

Dr Adam Read

Ian Davidson

Jonathan Stephenson

John Lippe

Right Revd. Roger Morris

Rob Pilley

Cllr. Peter Davey

Natalie Chapman

Rob Wise

Jake Richards

Charlotte Williams

Cllr. Simon Walsh

Cllr. Robert Mitchell

Cllr. Sue Lissimore

Cllr. Mackrory

Cllr. Abbott

Cllr. Henderson

(Quorum: 7, including the Chair)

For information about the meeting please ask for:

David Claydon, Delivery Manager for the Essex Climate Action Commission

Telephone: 0333 013 6027 Email: climate.commission@essex.gov.uk

Essex County Council

Essex Climate Change Action Commission meeting information

Meetings will be recorded for public dissemination. Commission members should note that all discussions in the main Commission meetings will, unless by exception to be agreed in advance by the Chair, be released into the public domain.

During the current Covid-19 crisis, the Commission Meetings will be held virtually using Zoom.

If you have specific access requirements or a need for documents in large print, Braille, Easy Read or alternative languages, please contact the Secretariat of the Commission before the meeting takes place.

Secretariat to support the work of the Commission:

David Claydon, Delivery Manager for the Essex Climate Action Commission Philip Oldershaw, Cabinet Adviser to Cllr Walsh, ECC Cabinet Member for Environment & Climate Change Action Peter Randall, Senior Democratic Services Officer Jo Boyd-Wallis, Senior Strategy Adviser

- 1. Welcome, Apologies and Substitutions (10:30 10:35) Lord Randall, Chairman
- 2. Introduction to Members of the Commission (10:35 11:00) All

Commission members will be given the opportunity to briefly introduce themselves.

3. Terms of Reference (11:00 - 11:15) - Lord Randall, Chairman

The draft Terms of Reference will be discussed and adopted (subject to comments and proposed amendments). Commission members have been provided with the draft Terms of Reference in advance of the meeting and will be invited to submit any comments and suggestions for amendments, where necessary.

4. Essex Climate Action Commission Work Plan (11:15 - 11:45) - Samantha Kennedy, Director of Environment & Climate Change Action, Essex County Council

The draft Essex Climate Action Commission Work Plan will be discussed and adopted (subject to comments and proposed amendments). Nominations for sponsorship of each of the focussed analysis areas in the workplan will be discussed and agreed. Commission members have been provided with the draft Work Plan in advance of the meeting and will be invited to submit any comments and suggestions for amendments, where necessary.

5. Essex Green Infrastructure Strategy (11:45 - 11:55) - John Meehan, Head of Sustainability & Resilience, Essex County Council

Commission members have been provided with a copy of the Essex Green Infrastructure Strategy for review. This will be explored in greater depth later in the year focussed analysis meeting number 5

6. Date of Next Meeting (11:55 – 12:00) – Lord Randall, Chairman

The date of the next meeting(s) will be discussed and agreed at this meeting. The initial dates proposed are as follows:

7/7/20 – Adapting to an already changing environment

8/9/20 – Transport

29/9/20 – The Built Environment 27/10/20 – Interim Report meeting

24/11/20 - Energy

12/1/21 – Land Use & Green Infrastructure

16/2/21 – Community Engagement

16/3/21 – Year 1 report