

Essex Climate Action Commission

11:00 Monday, 06 December 2021	Online Meeting
-----------------------------------	----------------

For information about the meeting please contact: The Secretariat at the Essex Climate Action Commission Email: climate.commission@essex.gov.uk

Membership (Quorum: 7, including the Chair):

Prof. Jules Pretty (Acting Chair) Prajwal (Co-Chair) Ellie (Co-Chair) James Abbott Catherine Cameron Natalie Chapman **Cllr Peter Davey** Ian Davidson Peta Denham **Toddington Harper** Cllr Ivan Henderson John Henry Heather Hilburn Victoria Hills Prof. Peter Hobson Prof. Aled Jones John Lippe **Cllr David King**

Cllr Sue Lissimore Dr Simon Lyster **Dr Laura Mansell-Thomas** Prof. Jacqueline McGlade Robert Mitchell Mark Nowers **Rob Pilley** Dr Adam Read Jake Richards Jo Roberts Jonathan Stephenson Cllr Paul Thorogood Prof. Graham Underwood Simon Walsh Cllr Holly Whitbread Rob Wise Dr Poone Yazdanpanah

Secretariat supporting the work of the Commission:

Ruth Kent, Project Manager Kerry Burgess, Communications Manager Michelle Blake, Business Support Administrator Gemma Bint, Democratic Services Officer

Essex Climate Change Action Commission meeting information

Meetings will be audio recorded for public dissemination. Commission members should note that all discussions in the main Commission meetings will, unless by exception, to be agreed in advance by the Chair, be released into the public domain.

If you have specific access requirements or a need for documents in large print, Braille, Easy Read or alternative languages, please contact the Secretariat of the Commission before the meeting takes place.

Pages

- 1 Welcome and Opening: plans for the Commission (11:00 - 11:05) - Prof. Jules Pretty (Chair)
- 2 Summary of Glasgow COP26 conference and other recent national and international environmental policies and outcomes (11:05 - 11:30) - Katie White, Head of Advocacy and Campaigns at WWF-UK; and Prof. Jules Pretty (Chair)
- 3 ECC update on Climate Action Commission recommendations - decision making, procurement and governance (11:30 - 11:40) - Cllr Peter Schwier, Climate Czar, Essex County Council
- 4 Update on Essex Partners and establishment of the Anchors Network Climate Group (11:40 - 11:50) -Sam Kennedy, Director of Environment and Climate Action, Essex County Council
- 5 Update from the Local Enterprise Partnership (11:50 - 11:55) - Adam Bryan, Chief Executive Officer, South East Local Enterprise Partnership
- 6 SIG updates on action plans against recommendations (11:55 - 12:55) - Various
 - Land Use and Green Infrastructure Jo Roberts
 - Energy and Waste Prof. Jacqueline McGlade
 - Built Environment Graham Thomas
 - Transport Tracey Vickers
 - Community Engagement Catherine Cameron
 - Green Growth Daphne White

7 Next Meeting and Close (12:55 - 13:00) - Prof. Jules Pretty