The Chief Executive's Report on return of Members Elected and Political Proportionality

Return of Members Elected

The return of those elected is attached to this Report.

Political Proportionality

Groups of Councillors can register as a political group. Political groups often register along party lines but a political group can be registered jointly with different parties or include only some members of a political party. A councillor can only be a member of one registered political group at a time.

The law requires the Council to allocate committee seats to registered political groups in accordance with political balance rules:

- 1. The majority party must have a majority of seats on every committee. Where there are co-opted voting members this is a majority of all seats, not just those held by councillors.
- 2. The total number of ordinary committee seats must be proportionate. So where the Conservative Group has 56% of Council seats it should have 56% of the ordinary committee seats. Overview and Scrutiny Committees and Joint Committees do not count as "ordinary committees".
- 3. Each individual committee must be as proportionate as possible. A group with 56% of Council seats should have 56% of the seats on each committee.

These rules can sometimes conflict, depending on the number and size of the political groups. If this happens the first rule is the most important, then the second and then the third.

The political balance rules do not always completely determine the balance of each committee. Sometimes the Council unavoidably has some discretion as to how to apply those rules.

For example, if there are committees of the same size which have to be balanced differently under the rules, there is a discretion as to which committee those should be applied to. Any discretion is exercised by full Council.

The attached table shows the allocation of committee seats which comply with the political balance rules.



ESSEX COUNTY COUNCIL

ELECTION

02 May 2013

Election of 75 County Councillors in 70 Divisions

Councillors by Electoral Division

County Returning Officer County Hall Chelmsford May 2013

BASILDON DISTRICT

BILLERICAY AND BURSTEAD (Two Member Division)

Hedley* Anthony Michael Conservative

Twitchen* Kay Conservative

LAINDON PARK AND FRYERNS (Two Member Division)

Archibald William Labour

Ellis Mark UKIP

PITSEA (Two Member Division)

Bobbin Keith Labour
McGeorge Melissa Anne Labour

WESTLEY HEIGHTS

Smith Kerry UKIP

WICKFORD CROUCH (Two Member Division)

Buckley Malcolm Conservative

Le Gresley Nigel De Lecq UKIP

BRAINTREE DISTRICT

BOCKING

Helm Gordon UKIP

BRAINTREE EASTERN

Newton Patricia Conservative

BRAINTREE TOWN

Butland* Graham Conservative

HALSTEAD

Pike* Joe Conservative

HEDINGHAM

Finch* David Malcolm Conservative

THREE FIELDS WITH GREAT NOTLEY

Walters* Roger Glyn Conservative

WITHAM NORTHERN

Abbot James Edward Green

WITHAM SOUTHERN

Louis* Derrick Jonathan Conservative

BRENTWOOD BOROUGH

BRENTWOOD HUTTON

Hirst Roger Charles Conservative

BRENTWOOD NORTH

Aspinell* Barry Roy Liberal Democrat

BRENTWOOD RURAL

Naylor* Ann Frances Conservative

BRENTWOOD SOUTH

Kendall* David John Liberal Democrat

CASTLE POINT BOROUGH

CANVEY ISLAND EAST

Blackwell Dave Independent

CANVEY ISLAND WEST

Howard* Ray Conservative

HADLEIGH

Reeves* Jillian Mary Conservative

SOUTH BENFLEET

Bayley Alan John UKIP

THUNDERSLEY

Huntman Jamie David UKIP

CHELMSFORD BOROUGH

BROOMFIELD AND WRITTLE

Aldridge* John Francis Conservative

CHELMER

Spence John Andrew Conservative

CHELMSFORD CENTRAL

Madden* Dick Conservative

CHELMSFORD NORTH

Robinson* Stephen Liberal Democrat

CHELMSFORD WEST

Deakin* Jude Liberal Democrat

GREAT BADDOW

Chandler Jenny Conservative

SOUTH WOODHAM FERRERS

Hume* Norman John Conservative

SPRINGFIELD

Mackrory* Mike Liberal Democrat

STOCK

Grundy* Ian Conservative

COLCHESTER BOROUGH

ABBEY

Fisher* Margaret Donaldson Liberal Democrat

CONSTABLE

Brown* Anne Conservative

DRURY

Lissimore Sue Conservative

MAYPOLE

Harris Dave Labour

MERSEA AND TIPTREE

Jowers* John Gilbert Conservative

MILE END & HIGHWOODS

Turrell* Anne Liberal Democrat

PARSONS HEATH & EAST GATES

Higgins* Theresa Margaret Anne Liberal Democrat

STANWAY & PYEFLEET

Bentley* Kevin Paul Conservative

WIVENHOE ST ANDREW

Young* Julie Ann Labour

EPPING FOREST DISTRICT

BUCKHURST HILL & LOUGHTON SOUTH

Metcalfe* Valerie Conservative

CHIGWELL & LOUGHTON BROADWAY

Knapman* John Conservative

EPPING & THEYDON BOIS

Whitehouse Jon Liberal Democrat

LOUGHTON CENTRAL

Pond* Chris Independent Loughton Residents

NORTH WEALD & NAZEING

Jackson* Anthony James Conservative

ONGAR & RURAL

McEwen Maggie Conservative

WALTHAM ABBEY

Gadsby Ricki Conservative

HARLOW DISTRICT

HARLOW NORTH

Danvers Michael Ralph Labour

HARLOW SOUTH EAST

Johnson* Eddie Conservative

HARLOW WEST (Two Member Division)

Durcan* Tony Labour

Clempner Karen Labour

MALDON DISTRICT

HEYBRIDGE AND TOLLESBURY

Bass* Rodney Lister Conservative

MALDON

Channer* Penny Conservative

SOUTHMINSTER

Boyce* Robert George Conservative

ROCHFORD DISTRICT

RAYLEIGH NORTH

Maddocks Malcolm Conservative

RAYLEIGH SOUTH

Gibbs Keith UKIP

ROCHFORD NORTH

Cutmore Terry Conservative

ROCHFORD SOUTH

Seagers Colin George Conservative

ROCHFORD WEST

Hoy Michael Green

TENDRING DISTRICT

BRIGHTLINGSEA

Lord Roger Gordon UKIP

CLACTON EAST

Oxley Pierre Tendring First

CLACTON NORTH

Wood Andy Conservative

CLACTON WEST

Honeywood Paul Bernard Conservative

FRINTON AND WALTON

Page* Mick Conservative

HARWICH

Henderson Ivan Labour

TENDRING RURAL EAST

Erskine Andrew James UKIP

TENDRING RURAL WEST

Guglielmi Carlo Conservative

UTTLESFORD DISTRICT

DUNMOW

Barker* Susan Conservative

SAFFRON WALDEN

Lodge John Stuart Independent

STANSTED

Gooding* Raymond John Conservative

THAXTED

Walsh* Simon Michael Conservative

^{*}Existing member

Essex County Council

Allocation of Seats on Committees as at 10 May 2013

Ordinary Committees (which must be overall and individually proportionate)

Committee	Size	Conservative	UKIP	Labour	Lib Dem	Non-aligned	Green
Development and Regulatory	12	7	1	1	1	1	1
Audit	7	4	1	1	1	0	0
Investment Steering Group	6	3 ⁱ	1	1	1	0	0
Foreign Travel Committee	5	3	0	1	1	0	0

Other bodies (which must be individually proportionate)

Committee	Size	Conservative	UKIP	Labour	Lib Dem	Non-aligned	Green
Corporate Scrutiny	14	8	1	2	2	1	0
People and Families Scrutiny	18	10	1	1	1	1	0
Place and Economic Growth Scrutiny	14	8	2	1	2	1	0
Health Scrutiny Committee	12	7	1	2	1	1	0
Standards Committee (Joint with Essex Fire Authority)	9	5	1	1	1	1	0

Essex Fire Authority	Size	Conservative	UKIP	Labour	Lib Dem	Non-aligned	Green
Fire Authority	20	11	3	2	2	1	1

¹ The Conservative Group have indicated that they do not intend to take up their entitlement to a majority of seats on this committee.