Appointment of Honorary Aldermen

In October 2004, the Council approved a Scheme to confer the title of honorary alderman on:

- all individuals who have previously held the Office of Chairman of the County Council and are no longer Members of the County Council;
- a small number of individuals in each four-year cycle to recognise the contribution of retiring Members who have rendered eminent service to the Council, but who have not held the Office of Chairman.

The Council's approval is sought to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on those individuals, as recommended below. The legal requirement for the appointment of Honorary Aldermen is that the resolution in respect of each nomination must be passed by two-thirds of the Members voting at the meeting.

Recommended:

That, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the persons named below be appointed Honorary Aldermen of the County of Essex:

- Mr Rodney Bass
- Mr Keith Bobbin
- Mr Robert Boyce
- Mrs Margaret Fisher
- Mr Ray Howard
- Mr Norman Hume
- Mrs Kay Twitchen