Peter Schwier - Climate Czar & Cabinet Member for Environment, Waste Reduction and Recycling

  • General
  • Election History
  • Party History
  • Division History
  • Members Interests
  • Committees
  • Outside Bodies
  • Training History
  • Hospitality and Gifts
  • Allowances and Expenses
Peter Schwier - Climate Czar & Cabinet Member for  Environment, Waste Reduction and Recycling
Elected:
06 May 2021
First Elected
06 May 2021
Party:
Conservative Party
Division:
Hedingham
Address:
Members' Suite
Essex County Council
PO Box 11
County Hall
Chelmsford
Essex
CM1 1LX
Telephone No:
01787 460473
Biography:

Associate Member of IEMA

Roles and Responsibilities

ECC Climate Czar & Cabinet Member for Waste Reduction and Recycling

Previous Roles and Responsibilities

Climate Czar - Deputy to the Leader, Cllr Kevin Bentley

 

Peter Schwier has been a district councillor for eight years and was recently elected to Essex County Council and subsequently became the Council’s Climate Czar.

Climate action is a high priority for Essex County Council. This will involve many different initiatives, moving towards becoming carbon neutral as soon as possible.

By profession, Peter is a retired farmer with a degree in agriculture, giving him a close working relationship and understanding of the environment. He also has experience running a small engineering business. The experience of running small businesses and his rural knowledge are assets which will be of great assistance when applied to the larger needs of the County Council.

Peter has lived in both France and America where he gained a commercial pilots licence. He has always been interested in renewable energy and his house benefits from a large array of solar panels combined with battery technology.

Peter has attended the UK100 Climate Leadership Academy, the LGA Leadership Academy and is also a fully qualified member of AIEMA.

 

Link to Division Profiles (via Essex Open data – select division name from drop down box)

 

Job Title:
Department:

Election History

ElectedRetiredReason
Thu 6 May 2021  

Party Representation History

PartyFromTo
Conservative PartyThu 6 May 2021

Division Representation History

DivisionFromTo
HedinghamThu 6 May 2021

Current Committee Memberships

Committee - Date JoinedRole
Cabinet - 01 July 2023 Climate Czar & Environment, Waste Reduction and Recycling
Full Council - 06 May 2021 Member

Past Committee Memberships

Past Committee - Date JoinedPast RolePast Leaving Date
There are no past committees for this member.

Current Outside Body Appointments

Past Outside Body Appointments

Personal Register of Interests

Date of NoticeReceipt by Monitoring OfficerView
24 November 202224 November 2022

Meeting Declarations

Committee NameMeeting DateNatureView
There are no meeting declarations for this member.
DateTitleNotes
Wed, 26 Jun 2024Essex Flood Board Training 
Mon, 24 Jun 2024PREVENT training 
Wed, 22 May 2024Planning Reforms Briefing 
Wed, 24 Apr 2024ECC Member briefing: Early Years: Childcare Reforms 
Tue, 16 Apr 2024Member Briefing: Highways Member Led Initiatives 
Wed, 27 Mar 2024Highways Briefing 
Thu, 15 Feb 2024Ride London Briefing 
Thu, 25 Jan 2024Waste Management Training CourseProvided by Bywater Training Ltd.
Tue, 19 Dec 2023Boundary Review Committee 
Wed, 15 Nov 2023LGA: Finance for non-finance cabinet members 
Mon, 30 Oct 2023Code of Conduct 
Tue, 10 Oct 2023Devolution Briefing 
Wed, 2 Aug 2023Cabinet Member Training 
Thu, 27 Jul 2023IEMA - Environment Passed exam 27 July 2023
Mon, 24 Jul 2023 Local Nature Recovery Strategy and the Water Strategy  
Wed, 5 Jul 2023Health and Adult Social Care Briefing 
Wed, 28 Jun 2023Climate Action: Community Engagement 
Mon, 12 Jun 2023Active Travel Learn and Live Conference 
Fri, 9 Jun 2023IEMA Foundation Certificate in Environmental Management  
Wed, 31 May 2023Climate Action: Green Growth 
Wed, 24 May 2023Member Funds Briefing 2023-24 
Wed, 18 Jan 2023Climate Leadership Academy6 day course
Thu, 12 Jan 2023Climate Transport briefing 
Wed, 7 Dec 2022Member Briefing on Devolution 
Wed, 23 Nov 2022Essex Housing Briefing 
Tue, 15 Nov 2022Standards Training 
Wed, 19 Oct 2022Superfast Broadband Briefing 
Mon, 10 Oct 2022Briefing - Public Health Business Plan 
Wed, 5 Oct 2022Armed Forces Covenant Briefing 
Tue, 5 Jul 2022Briefing - Local Government Boundary Review 
Wed, 15 Jun 2022Fostering Briefing 
Tue, 14 Jun 2022LGC Net Zero2 day course
Fri, 27 May 2022Zero Carbon Britain - Centre for Alternative Technology 
Thu, 26 May 2022Standards Briefing 
Mon, 16 May 2022Locality Fund/LLUF Briefing 
Wed, 6 Apr 2022Personal Safety Briefing 
Wed, 23 Feb 2022D&R: Minerals Local Plan 
Fri, 28 Jan 2022LGA Leadership Essentials: Climate Emergency  
Wed, 12 Jan 2022Public Speaking for Councillors 
Fri, 7 Jan 2022LGA Leadership Academy6 day course
Mon, 29 Nov 2021Members' Briefing - Levelling Up 
Fri, 12 Nov 2021Health and Care 
Mon, 8 Nov 2021Emergency Planning Briefing 
Mon, 11 Oct 2021Highways Winter Service Briefing 
Fri, 8 Oct 2021My Oracle Member Briefing 
Wed, 6 Oct 2021Skills, employment and ACL 
Thu, 23 Sep 2021My Oracle Demonstration 
Wed, 8 Sep 2021Safer Essex Roads Partnership briefing 
Fri, 3 Sep 2021Corporate Parenting Member Briefing 
Wed, 28 Jul 2021Briefing - Superfast Broadband 
Wed, 21 Jul 2021Member Briefing - Beaulieu Park 
Mon, 19 Jul 2021Summer Covid Fund Induction 
Thu, 1 Jul 2021Education Services Induction 
Wed, 30 Jun 2021Personal Safety - Member Development 
Tue, 15 Jun 2021Cabinet and Deputy Cabinet Member Induction 
Mon, 14 Jun 2021Equality and Diversity Induction 
Wed, 9 Jun 2021Allowances, Expenses and ePayroll Induction 
Tue, 8 Jun 2021Social Media Induction 
Mon, 7 Jun 2021Highways Induction 
Thu, 27 May 2021Member Enquiries Induction 
Wed, 26 May 2021Place and Public Health Induction 
Fri, 21 May 2021Adult Social Care Intro 
Thu, 20 May 2021Scrutiny Induction 
Wed, 19 May 2021Local Government Finance and ECC Budget 
Mon, 17 May 2021Highways Induction 
Thu, 13 May 2021Code of Conduct and Standards 
Thu, 13 May 2021Children, Safeguarding and Education 
Tue, 11 May 2021Introduction to ECC 
DateFromDescriptionValue
There are no hospitality and gift records for this member.

Member Attendance

Attendance Summary

SummaryCountPercentage
Expected attendances12 
Present as expected12100%
Absent00%
Apologies received00% of absences
In attendance (as a visitor)0 

Attendance Details

Print this page